Dravid to play All India Twenty20 tournament

Published: Thursday, April 12, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Team India captain Rahul Dravid will play for Karnataka in the Inter-State all India Twenty20 Cricket Tournament to be played in Mumbai from April 15 to 20.

Dashing opener Robin Uthappa also figured in the 16-member team announced here today by the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA).

Middle order batsman Yere Goud would be leading the team.

This was the first tournament that Dravid and Uthappa would be seen in action after Team India's debacle in the World Cup. They had not taken part in the zonal matches played in Visakhapatnam last month.

The Team:

Yere Goud (Captain), Rahul Dravid, Robin Uthappa, Devraj T Patil, C Raghu, V S Thilak Naidu (WK), B Akhil, Sunil B Joshi, Raju Bhatkal, Deepak Chougule, S Aravind, Amit Verma, Manish Pandey, K P Appanna, Mohammed Arif and R Vinay Kumar. Coach: B K Venkatesh Prasad, Physio: Ramakanth, Manager: Raghuram Bhat.

Sachin, Zaheer, Agarkar in Mumbai squad: Star batsman Sachin Tendulkar, along with pacers Ajit Agarkar and Zaheer Khan, was today included in the Mumbai team for the All India Twenty20 tournament to be held from April 15 to 21.

The trio did not play in the zonal rounds when they were rested earlier this month.

Also Wasim Jaffer and Ramesh Powar will feature in Mumbai team to be captained by Amol Muzumdar.

Mumbai is placed in Group B and will play the league phase in Ahmedabad. Group A matches and the finals are scheduled to be held here on April 21.

The Team:

Amol Muzumdar (captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim Jaffer, Rohit Sharma, Vinit Indulkar, Vinayak Samant (wk), Ramesh Powar, Ajit Agarkar, Zaheer Khan, Nilesh Kulkarni, Musafir Khote, Ajinkya Rahane, Avishkar Salvi, Iqbal Abdullah and Vinayak Mane.


Write Comments