Jayawardene elects to bowl against Ireland

Published: Wednesday, April 18, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

St George's (Grenada):Sri Lanka captain Jayawardene won the toss and asked Ireland to bat in their final World Cup Super Eights tie at the Grenada National Stadium here on Wednesday.

Sri Lanka recalled left-arm swing bowler Chaminda Vaas and off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan in place of pace bowler Dilhara Fernando and leg-spinner Malinga Bandara who played in the seven-wicket loss to Australia on Monday.

Strike bowler Lasith Malinga, who has missed the last two matches because of an ankle injury, will sit out making way for Nuwan Kulasekara.

Ireland selected batsman Kenny Carroll in place of Andrew White.


Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene (captain), Chamara Silva, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Russel Arnold, Farveez Maharoof, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Kulasekara and Muttiah Muralitharan.

Ireland: William Porterfield, Jeremy Bray, Andre Botha, Eoin Morgan, Niall O'Brien, Kevin O'Brien, Trent Johnston (captain), Kenny Carroll, Kyle McCallan, Dave Langford-Smith and Boyd Rankin.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Mark Benson (Eng).


Write Comments