Twenty20: TN scrapes past MP to stay in hunt

Published: Friday, April 20, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:Tamil Nadu held on its nerves to clinch a 12-run victory over Madhya Pradesh in the Group 'B' match of the All-India inter-state Twenty-20 championship on the last-day of qualifying rounds at Motera in Ahmedabad on Thursday.

Batting first after losing the toss, Tamil Nadu were all out for 143 in 19.3 overs, in which major contributions were from M Vijay (35), Dinesh Karthik (27) and S Vidyut (25).

With this victory, Tamily Nadu are on top with 12 points, However, which team will make it to the final rests on the results of the evening fixture slated between another two giants-Mumbai and Bengal, both are on eight points each.

In case of a tie, as per the rules of the Championship, it will be resolved with the results of individual encounters between these teams. The final will be played as a night match at Mumbai on Apr 21.

TN began its quest with dismal performance as both openers S Anirudha and V Devendran returned to pavillion with individual contributions of 7 and 2 runs, respectively. It also lost last three wickets - R Prasanna, Y Yomahesh, R Ashwin - for just three runs to end up with 143 runs in 19.3 overs.

While MP openers - Naman Ojha and Jafar Ali chasing 144 runs to win, gave a solid start with their individual contribution of 12 and 22 runs which was later supported by No 3 and 5 batsmen M Pasha and Rahul Bakshi with their individual scorings of 25 and 23 runs, respectively.

But tight bowling and well supported by equally good fielding made the day for TN by restricting MP to 131 for 5 in stipulated 20 overs.

Brief Scores:

Tamil Nadu: 143 all out in 19.3 overs (M Vijay 35, Dinesh Karthik 27, S Vidyut 25; Anand Rajan 3 for 34, T Sudhindra 2 for 19, Rajesh Kanojiya 2 for 28) beat Madhya Pradesh: 131 for 5 in 20 overs (M Pasha 25 Rashul Bakshi 23, Jafar Ali 22) by 12 runs.


Write Comments