Pak leave out Younis, Akhtar for Abu Dhabi ODIs

Published: Monday, April 23, 2007, 21:44 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore:After missing out on a World Cup berth, dope-tainted fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar has not been considered but Mohammad Asif was recalled for the training camp, which starts here from Saturday for next months three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka in Abu Dhabi.

While announcing the names of 39 probables for the camp, chief selector Salahuddin Ahmed said Shoaib still required more time to regain fitness.

Even Younis Khan, who is playing for Yorkshire in England and was reportedly offered the captaincy, was not included but Salahuddin said he could still be included in the final squad if he (Younis) confirms his availability.

Salahuddin also said that in the future no player will find himself in contention without playing domestic matches.

''It is the unanimous decision of the committee that it will only consider those players who will show their interest in the domestic cricket and it is part and parcel for every cricketer to perform in domestic cricket to earn a place in Pakistan team,'' he told Dawn.

The newly-appointed paid selection committee held a two-day meeting at the PCB headquarters to announce the decision.

Shafqat Rana and Saleem Jaffar, two members of the selection committee, also attended the meeting.

The selectors did not contact Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Azhar Mahmood and Danish Kaneria, who are all are playing county cricket.

In all, seven openers and ten middle-order batsmen were summoned for the camp.

Five all-rounders, including Pakistan new captain Shoaib Malik, are included in the list.


Openers: Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Imran Nazir, Khurram Manzoor, Taufiq Umar, Babar Naeem and Khalid Latif.

Middle-order batsmen:,/b> Mohammad Yousuf, Faisal Iqbal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Asim Kamal, Hasan Raza, Naved Latif, Yasir Hameed, Riffatullah Mohmmad, Shahid Yousuf and Adnan Raza.

All-rounders: Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez and Fawwad Alam.

Fast bowlers: Mohammad Asif, Mohammad Sami, Umar Gul, Rao Iftikhar, Shabbir Ahmed, Abdul Rauf, Mohammad Irshad, Najaf Shah, Shahid Nazir and Mohammad Khalil.

Spinners: Abdur Rehman, Tahir Khan, Atif Maqbool and Mansoor Amjad.

Wicket-keepers: Kamran Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed and Zulqarnain Haider.


Write Comments