Smith chooses to bat against Australia

Published: Wednesday, April 25, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:South Africa won the toss and elected to bat in their World Cup semi-final clash against Australia at the Beausejour Cricket Ground in Gros Islet, St Lucia on Wednesday.

South Africa named an unchanged side after fast bowler Andre Nel cleared a fitness test for a finger injury sustained in the nets on Monday. Australia is also fielding unchanged squad.


Australia: Adam Gilchrist (wk), Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Michael Hussey, Shane Watson, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait and Glenn McGrath. Coach: John Buchanan.

South Africa: Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Herschelle Gibbs, Ashwell Prince, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher (wk), Shaun Pollock, Andrew Hall, Andre Nel and Charl Langeveldt. Coach: Mickey Arthur.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI), Aleem Dar (Pak) and Third Umpire: Billy Bowden (NZ).

Match Referee: Jeff Crowe (NZ).


Write Comments