Jayawardene, Moody in ICC~~s cricket committee

Published: Wednesday, May 16, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:Sri Lanka captain Mahela Jayawardene and their former coach Tom Moody were named on the International Cricket Council's (ICC) newly constituted cricket committee on Tuesday.

"The new structure is designed to be representative of all interests in the modern game," an ICC statement said.

The previous structure was made up of nominated representatives from each of the full members (boards and players) and leading associates.

Umpire of the Year Simon Taufel, former Australia captain Mark Taylor and ex-West Indies fast bowler Michael Holding are also part of the 13-member committee, which will be headed by former India skipper Sunil Gavaskar.

"The game of cricket now has at its disposal a group of outstanding cricket brains covering all aspects of the game and with their collective input we will be able to ensure that, moving forward, a strong sport is able to grow even stronger," ICC chief executive officer Malcolm Speed said in a statement.

Write Comments