India win toss, elect to bat against Bangladesh

Published: Friday, May 18, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chittagong:India captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat in the first cricket Test against Bangladesh here.

India went in with five bowlers to beat the stifling heat and humidity, but sprang a surprise by fielding three seamers in Zaheer Khan, Vikram Rajvir Singh and Rudra Pratap Singh.

Anil Kumble and Ramesh Powar will form the spin attack, while Venkatsai Laxman and Yuvraj Singh were the two specialist batsmen to miss out.

Bangladesh left out rookie spinner Mehrab Hossain and fielded two seamers and two spinners on the dry wicket at the Ruhul Amin stadium.


India: Rahul Dravid (capt), Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Karthick, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Vikram Rajvir Singh, Ramesh Powar, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Bangladesh: Habibul Bashar (capt), Mohammad Ashraful, Javed Omar, Shahriar Nafees, Saqibul Hasan, Rajin Saleh, Khaled Mashud, Mohammad Rafique, Enamul Haque, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shahadat Hossain.

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS) and Billy Doctrove (WIS)

TV umpire: Enamul Hoque Moni (BAN)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)


Write Comments