Asia XI elect to bat in final ODI in Chennai

Published: Sunday, June 10, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chennai:Asia XI skipper Mahela Jayawardene won the toss and elected to bat in the third and final Afro-Asia Cup ODI Match at the M A Chidambaram Stadium here today.

Asia XI made three changes in their side that won the second match here yesterday, bringing in Harbhajan Singh, M Mortaza and Upul Tharanga in place of Saurav Ganguly, Zaheer Khan (injured) and Dilhara Fernando.

Africa XI made two changes, with Peter Ongonda and Steve Tikolo coming in place of Thomas Odoyo and Albie Morkel. Asia had already clinched the series.


Asia IX: Mahela Jayawardene (Capt), Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Tharanga Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, M Mortaza, Mohammed Rafique, Muhammad Asif, Harbhajan Singh, Mohammed Yousuf, 12th man: S Ganguly.

Africa IX: A B De Villiers, Steve Tikolo, Johan Botha, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Justin Kemp, Elton Chigumbura, Vusimusi Sibanda, Peter Ongonda, Morne Morkel, Boeta Dippenaar.

Umpires: Tony Hill and Peter Parker Third umpire : Amish Saheba


Write Comments