Nimbus announces multi-lingual telecast package

Published: Friday, June 15, 2007, 1:22 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai:In a historic first in Indian cricket television history, Nimbus today announced a six-channel five-language TV broadcast in India for its Summer Series of six One Day Internationals (ODIs), including the Future Cup and the Future Friendship Cup.

Featuring five India matches against Pakistan, South Africa and Ireland, the summer series promises to be one of the hottest cricket events in recent times and it will now be accessible to every cricket fan in India, a release issued here stated.

The events will be broadcast live with an unprecedented five language commentary options, including SAB TV with commentary in Hindi, Neo Sports with commentary in English, Sun News with commentary in Tamil, Gemini News with commentary in Telugu and Udaya Varthagalu with commentary in Kannada.

In addition, as per the Sports Act 2007, the five matches featuring India in the Series will also be broadcast live on Doordarshan.

Commenting on the same, Yannick Colaco, Senior VP, Nimbus Sport said, ''Nimbus has been a pioneer in marketing of sports rights and we are delighted at introducing another first in cricket marketing in India. The multi-channel, multi-lingual broadcast on this scale, is a first for cricket in India and provides viewers with live cricket at an extraordinary level of customisation. Indian cricket fans across the country have a choice like never before!''

The Summer Series will feature four of the most exciting teams in world cricket playing in time zones which deliver prime time viewing in India. Each match will start at 1515 hrs India time.

The schedule for the Event is as follows: June 23 Belfast India v Ireland; June 24 Belfast South Africa v Ireland; June 26 Belfast India v South Africa; 1st ODI Future Cup June 29 Belfast India v South Africa; 2nd ODI Future Cup; July 1 Belfast India v South Africa; 3rd ODI Future Cup; July 3 Glasgow India v Pakistan.


Write Comments