England opt to bowl against Windies in Durham

Published: Saturday, June 16, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chester-Le-Street:England captain Michael Vaughan won the toss and elected to field against the West Indies in the fourth Test at the Riverside here on Saturday.

Rain had washed out the whole of Friday's first day play without a ball being bowled and a wet outfield meant Saturday's start had been delayed by three hours until 2pm local time (1300GMT).

England made one change from the team that won the third Test at Old Trafford by 60 runs.

Fast bowler Matthew Hoggard, who'd missed the last two Tests with a groin problem sustained while bowling in the series opener at Lord's, replaced out-of-form Durham quick Liam Plunkett who missed out on playing a Test on his home ground.

West Indies made two changes with batsman Marlon Samuels replacing pace bowling all-rounder Darren Sammy, who took seven for 66 on Test debut at Old Trafford but suffered a hamstring strain while batting in that match.

Samuels is primarily a batsman but he can also bowl off-spin. He joined the squad after Ramnaresh Sarwan, West Indies' then captain, sustained a tour-ending shoulder injury in the second Test at Headingley.

Fast bowler Daren Powell, dropped for the Old Trafford match, replaced Jerome Taylor.

There are 70 overs scheduled to be bowled Saturday, 20 fewer than would have been the case had play started on time, with the close set to be at 7pm local time (1800GMT).

England are an unbeatable 2-0 up in the four-match series after a draw at Lord's, their innings and 283 run victory, West Indies heaviest Test innings defeat, at Headingley and the win at Old Trafford completed Monday.

West Indies have won just two of their last 38 Tests.


England: Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Michael Vaughan (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Ian Bell, Matthew Prior (wk), Stephen Harmison, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar and Matthew Hoggard.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Daren Ganga (capt), Devon Smith, Runako Morton, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Daren Powell, Fidel Edwards and Corey Collymore.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ), Aleem Dar (Pak) and Third umpire: Nigel Llong (Eng).

Match referee: Alan Hurst (Aus).


Write Comments