India elect to field against Ireland in Belfast

Published: Saturday, June 23, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Belfast:India captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to field in the lone one-day international against Ireland at Stormont here.

India gave a one-day international debut to middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma.

The match was the second major one-day international played here after Ireland's match against England last year.

This fixture is the opening match of an event also featuring South Africa.

Ireland play South Africa on Sunday before India and South Africa play each other in a three-game series starting on Tuesday.

Ireland produced one of the shock performances at the World Cup when beating Pakistan in Jamaica on March 17 and reaching the second phase, Super Eights stage of the tournament.

India failed to reach the second round after being beaten by Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in their pool.


Ireland: William Porterfield, Kenny Carroll, Dominick Joyce, Niall O'Brien (wk), Gary Wilson, Kevin O'Brien, Andrew White, Trent Johnston (capt), Kyle McCallan, Thinus Fourie and Roger Whelan.

India: Sourav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid (capt), Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Piyush Chawla, Agit Agarkar, Rudra Pratap Singh and Shanthakumaran Sreesanth.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ), Mark Benson (Eng) and Third umpire: Aleem Dar (Pak).

Match referee: Alan Hurst (Aus).


Write Comments