England elect to field against Windies at Edgbaston

Published: Wednesday, July 4, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Birmingham:England captain Paul Collingwood won the toss and elected to field in the second one-day international against the West Indies at Edgbaston here Wednesday.

England made two changes from the team that won Sunday's series opener at Lord's by 79 runs.

Left-arm quick Ryan Sidebottom, fit after a viral infection, replaced fellow pace bowler Liam Plunkett, who took two wickets for 38 runs at Lord's.

And Michael Yardy, primarliy a batsman but someone who bowls quick spin replaced frontline left-arm spinner Monty Panesar, who was last omitted for England's final World Cup game against the West Indies in Barbados on April 21.

Yardy played the last of his five full one-day internationals against West Indies at Ahmedabad on October 28, 2006, during the ICC Champions Trophy.

West Indies were unchanged.

But Shivnarine Chanderpaul - who top scored for his side at Lord's with 53 not out - was, as captain Chris Gayle had previously indicated, promoted up the order from No 5 to No 3 in a swop with Runako Morton.

The third and final match of this series takes place at Trent Bridge on Saturday.


England: Alastair Cook, Matt Prior (wk), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (capt), Owais Shah, Michael Yardy, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom, James Anderson

West Indies: Chris Gayle (capt), Devon Smith, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Runako Morton, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Dwayne Smith, Daren Powell, Ravi Rampaul, Fidel Edwards

Umpires: Brian Jerling (RSA), Ian Gould (Eng) and Third Umpire: Mark Benson (Eng).

Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA).


Write Comments