India opt to bowl against England at Trent Bridge

Published: Saturday, July 28, 2007, 0:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore:India captain Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bowl against England in the second Test at Trent Bridge in Nottinham.

Umpires Simon Taufel and Ian Howell after an inspection at 14:00 local time announced play would begin at 15:00 local time (16:00GMT) after the start was delayed by a rain-soaked outfield.

Heavy rain in the Nottingham in the recent past had left much of the outfield completely saturated. Both teams have retained the same squad as the opening Test at Lord's.

The three-match series is level at 0-0 after the first Test at Lord's was drawn on Monday.


India: Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Karthik, Rahul Dravid (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Anil Kumble, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh and Sreesanth.

England: Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, Michael Vaughan (capt), Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Ian Bell, Matt Prior (wk), Chris Tremlett, Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar and James Anderson.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Aus), Ian Howell (RSA).

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).


Write Comments