NSW to host ninth Women's World Cup

Published: Wednesday, August 22, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney: Australian province New South Wales (NSW) will host the ninth edition Women's World Cup in March 2009.

Australia, the defending champions, were awarded the event in 2006 and chose NSW ahead of Tasmania, which is likely to stage warm-up matches for the tournament.

The Aussies, England, who had the first event in 1973, and New Zealand have all hosted the one-day competition twice while India (1978), who lost to Australia in the title clash in the previous edition, and South Africa (2005) hosted it once.

India will host the tenth chapter of the biggest event in women's cricket in 2013.

Cricket Australia chairman Creagh O'Connor said: "The profile of women's cricket is growing quickly. This is an exciting time for the sport."

A peep on Women's World Cup:-

Year Host Final Results
1973 England England defeated Australia by 92 runs
1978 India Australia beat England by 8 wickets
1982 New Zealand Australia defeated England by 3 wickets
1988 Australia Australia beat England by 8 wickets
1993 England England beat New Zealand by 67 runs
1997 India Australia defeated New Zealand by 5 wickets
2000 New Zealand New Zealand beat Australia by 4 runs
2005 South Africa Australia beat India by 98 runs


Write Comments