Pak seek foreign help to boost domestic game

Published: Tuesday, September 11, 2007, 23:53 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Johannesburg: Australia's captain Ricky Ponting grabbed the top honours at the prestigious ICC Awards, as he was named Player of the Year, Captain of the Year and was included in both ICC World Teams of the Year.

The 32-year-old Tasmanian has had an outstanding year with the bat, dominating at both Test and ODI level, and has also established himself as one of the most tactically aware and fearless captains in the world.

Ponting was joined on the winners' list by Australia team-mates Matthew Hayden, who took the ODI Player of the Year award, and Shaun Tait, who was named Emerging Player of the Year.

India's Jhulan Goswami followed in the footsteps of former Australia captain Karen Rolton to become the second ever Women's Player of the Year. She beat Australia's Lisa Sthalekar and Claire Taylor of England to that honour.

For the first time, there was an award for the Associate ODI Player of the Year to mark the contribution that the non-Full Member teams are making to the world of cricket. Kenya all-rounder Thomas Odoyo became the inaugural winner of this award, having a fine year with both bat and ball.

In total, there were eight individual awards handed out, a Spirit of Cricket Award and the two ICC Teams of the Year - for Tests and ODIs - were also announced.

Pakistan run machine Mohammad Yousuf scooped the Test Player of the Year award and Sri Lanka took the Spirit of Cricket Award.

ICC President Ray Mali said, ''The past year has been another exciting one for cricket fans around the world in a time that included the ICC Champions Trophy and the ICC Cricket World Cup.

These players have contributed hugely to our enjoyment. This is the fourth annual ICC Awards night and each year it is gaining in prestige.

''It is also a pleasure that for the first time we will be presenting the award for the Associate ODI Player of the Year. We saw in the inaugural ICC World Cricket League Division 1 and at the ICC Cricket World Cup that the top Associates are capable of being competitive at ODI level, even against the best sides and we are committed to promoting cricket beyond its traditional boundaries,'' he added.


Winners of the International Cricket Council (ICC) awards for 2007

Cricketer of the Year: Ricky Ponting (AUS)

Other nominees:

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WIS)

Kevin Pietersen (ENG)

Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)

Test Player of the Year: Mohammad Yousuf (PAK)

Other nominees:

Muttiah Muralitharan (SRI)

Kevin Pietersen (ENG)

Ricky Ponting (AUS)

Emerging Player of the Year: Shaun Tait (AUS)

Other nominees:

Ravi Bopara (ENG)

Shakib Al Hasan (BAN)

Ross Taylor (NZL)

Captain of the Year: Ricky Ponting (AUS)

Other nominee:

Mahela Jayawardene (SRI)

One-day Player of the Year: Matthew Hayden (AUS)

Other nominees:

Ricky Ponting (AUS)

Jacques Kallis (RSA)

Glenn McGrath (AUS)

One-day Player of the year for non-Test nations: Thomas Odoyo (KEN)

Other nominees:

Ashish Bagai (CAN)

Ryan ten Doeschate (NED)

Steve Tikolo (KEN)

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Jhulan Goswami (IND)

Other nominees:

Lisa Sthalekar (AUS)

Claire Taylor (ENG)

Umpire of the Year: Simon Taufel (AUS)

Other nominees:

Mark Benson (ENG)

Steve Bucknor (WIS)

Daryl Harper (AUS)

Spirit of Cricket Award: Sri Lanka

Other nominees:



New Zealand

Write Comments