Dhoni to lead India in one-dayers

Published: Tuesday, September 18, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mahendra Singh DhoniNew Delhi: As widely expected, India's wicket-keeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been appointed captain of India's ODI team for the home series against Australia and Pakistan.

Off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and all-rounder Irfan Pathan have been recalled to the 15-member squad for the first three ODIs of the seven-match series against Australia, while Ajit Agarkar, Munaf Patel and Rohit Sharma have been dropped. Virender Sehwag's superb batting against New Zealand in India's last Twenty20 match proved not enough as selectors decided to exclude him.

Dhoni, who was Rahul Dravid's deputy during India's England tour, has improved by leaps and bounds after making his ODI debut in December 2004. He has scored 2477 runs in 84 ODIs at an average of 44.23 and a strike rate of 96.26. His highest score, an unbeaten 183 against Sri Lanka in 2006, is a record for a wicketkeeper and also the record for the most runs scored by a batsman while chasing.

India one-day squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt) ,Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Dinesh Karthik, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Piyush Chawla, RP Singh, Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh


Read more about: dravid, india captaincy
Write Comments