India elect to bat against England

Published: Wednesday, September 19, 2007, 21:52 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat against England in a must-win Super Eights match of the Twenty20 world championships on Wednesday.

India, who lost their first match to New Zealand, will be dumped out of the tournament if they lose.

England have already been knocked out of the semi-final race from group E after losing their first two matches.

England: Paul Collingwood (capt), Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, Darren Maddy, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Vikram Solanki, Chris Tremlett, Luke Wright, James Anderson.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, Yuvraj Singh, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS) and Billy Doctrove (WIS)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)


Read more about: elect, bat, england
Write Comments