India elect to bat against South Africa

Published: Thursday, September 20, 2007, 22:14 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat against South Africa in a key match of the Twenty20 world championships here on Thursday.

India, who need a win to qualify for the semi-finals, suffered a blow when Yuvraj Singh was ruled out with an elbow injury sustained during Wednesday's match against England in which he hit Stuart Broad for six sixes in an over.

Dinesh Karthick replaced Yuvraj while South Africa brought in Makhaya Ntini in place of Andre Nel.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Gautam Gambhir, Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Rohit Sharma, Rudra Pratap Singh, Dinesh Karthick, Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, Robin Uthappa.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Mark Boucher, Abraham de Villiers, Herschelle Gibbs, Justin Kemp, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Vernon Philander, Shaun Pollock, Johan van der Wath.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WIS) and Simon Taufel (AUS)

TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)

Read more about: elect, bat, africa
Write Comments