New Zealand bat in semi-final against Pakistan

Published: Saturday, September 22, 2007, 16:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Zealand won the toss and decided to bat in their World Twenty20 semi-final against Pakistan at Newlands Saturday.

Five of the seven matches played at Newlands have been won by the team batting second.

But both New Zealand's wins in the Super Eights stage came after they batted first.

Pakistan brought in batsman Fawad Alam in place of Salman Butt in the only change to the team that beat Bangladesh by four wickets at the same venue Thursday.

New Zealand batsman Peter Fulton, who missed his side's previous match against South Africa because of injury, returned in place of Nathan McCullum, while off-spinner Jeetan Patel replaced fast bowler Chris Martin.

The weather was overcast with the possibility of showers. The match conditions allow for two hours to be lost because of weather conditions before overs are reduced.

In the event of no result being achieved, Pakistan would qualify for the final in Johannesburg Monday because they have won more matches in the tournament. They have won four of their five matches and New Zealand have won three games.


New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Brendon McCullum, Lou Vincent, Peter Fulton, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Craig McMillan, Jacob Oram, Shane Bond, Mark Gillespie, Jeetan Patel.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Fawad Alam, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asif.

Umpires: Daryl Harper, Simon Taufel (both AUS). TV umpire: Ian Howell (RSA). Match referee: Mike Procter (RSA).

Read more about: zealand, bat, semifinal, pakistan
Write Comments