New Zealand elect to bat against Pak at Newlands

Published: Saturday, September 22, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to bat  against Pakistan in the first semi-final of the ICC World Twenty20 at Newlands in Cape Town on Saturday.

New Zealand have made two changes to their side from the last match. Off-spinner Jeetan Patel has replaced Chris Martin while Peter Fulton comes in for Nathan McCulum. Pakistan have dropped opener Salman Butt and young batting all-rounder Fawad Alam has been drafted in.


Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Younus Khan, Fawad Alam, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul and Mohammad Asif

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Lou Vincent, Peter Fulton, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Jacob Oram, Craig McMillan, Daniel Vettori, Shane Bond, Mark Gillespie and Jeetan Patel.

Match Officials: Umpires: Daryl Harper, Simon Taufel (both Aus) and Third Umpire: Ian Howell (South Africa). Match Referee: Mike Proctor (SA).


Write Comments