Pathan Sr in for Sehwag as India opt to bat

Published: Monday, September 24, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: India skipper Mahendra Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the World Twenty20 summit clash against Pakistan at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Monday.

India opened with Gautam Gambhir and big hitting Baroda all-rounder Yusuf Pathan. Yusuf after surviving the run-out scare early on started on a bright note hitting a six over long-on in the first over of Mohammad Asif but fell to the same bowler in the third over of the innings caught by Shoaib Malik at mid-wcket. Uthappa followed immediatly mis-timing a lofted shot to give a regulation catch at mid-off to Afridi off Tanvir. In-form batsman Yuvraj joined Gambhir with India placed awkwardly at 40/2 in 6 overs.

The spirited Dhoni&Co stunned world beaters Aussies by 15 runs to set up a dream final after Pak registered a six-wicket win over Kiwis in the first semi-final.

India aim for a repeat of their 1983 World Cup win while Pakistan, the 1992 champions, have yet to beat their traditional rivals on big stage.

The two sides played out a dramatic tie earlier in the tournament, with India wrapping it up after a bowl-out 3-0.

India suffered a blow when they had to bring Yusuf Pathan in for Virender Sehwag after the opener failed to recover from his groin problem.

Pakistan also made one change to their semi-final line-up with seamer Yasir Arafat coming in for left-arm spinner Fawad Alam.


India: Yousuf Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt, wk), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Joginder Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Shantakumaran Sreesanth and Rudra Pratap Singh.

Pakistan: Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Younus Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq, Shoaib Malik (capt), Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal (wk), Yasir Arafat Sohail Tanvir, Umar Gul and Mohammad Asif.

Match Officials: Umpires: Mark Benson (Eng), Simon Taufel (Aus) and Third Umpire: Daryl Harper (Aus). Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).


Write Comments