Australia elect to bat in first one-dayer against India

Published: Saturday, September 29, 2007, 14:54 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia's stand-in skipper Adam Gilchrist won the toss and elected to bat in the first one-day international against India here Saturday.

Brad Haddin was brought into the Australian squad in place of regular captain Ricky Ponting, who is nursing a hamstring injury.

The Indians left out off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and batsman Robin Uthappa for the day-night match.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Gautham Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Shantakumaran Sreesanth.

Australia: Adam Gilchrist (capt), Stuart Clark, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Mathew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, James Hopes.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI), Suresh Shastri (IND)

Third Umpire: Amish Sahiba (IND)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more about: australia, elect, bat, onedayer
Write Comments