Australia elect to bat in first one-dayer

Published: Saturday, September 29, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Bangalore: Australia skipper Adam Gilchrist won the toss and elected to bat against India in the first of seven-match ODI series here at Chinnaswamy Stadium on Saturday.

India has decided to play four pacemen, on a unusual green strip here, with Zaheer Khan, Sreesanth, Irfan Pathan and RP Singh making it to playing eleven.

Off-spinner Harbhajan sits out paving way for Ramesh Powar. Local lad Robin Uthappa also misses out.

Australia miss the services of regular skipper Ricky Ponting, left-handed batsman Mike Hussey and all-rounder Shane Watson due to injuries 

Zaheer, Sreesanth strike early: India new-ball attack Zaheer Khan and Sreesanth taking the advantage of the seamer-friendly wicket delivered early blows on Aussies. Zaheer drew the first blood when Gilly's square-cut flew to the point. Yuvraj stationed there held on a stunner of a catch.

Sreesanth in his second over sent Brad Hodge packing.  Sree after bowling a wayward deliveries in his first over bowled a peach of a delivery that was fuller in length and swung back to deceive Hodge for a plumb LBW.

Papps Clarke joined Hayden and they both added 60 runs for the third wicket stand in just under 12 overs before Srresanth coming round the wicket in his second spell disturbed the latter's woodwork with a delivery pitched outside the off and angled in. Hayden made a brisk 34 studded with five boundary hits and a towering six over fine-leg. 

Three overs later Sreesanth struck again removing Symonds with a slower one that beat Symmo all ends for a clear LBW decision. Haddin joined Clarke and revived the tottering Aussie innings. They milked 144 runs for the fifth wicket stand before Yuvi lured Haddin out of the crease with a flighted delivery for a easy stumping. The New South Wales duo batted sensibly rotating the strike regularly and scoring a odd boundary. Clarke who enjoyed a life when on 31 off Pathan, reached his half-century in just 66 balls. Both the batsmen targetted off-spinner Powar and RP.


India: Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (capt-wk), Irfan Pathan, Ramesh Powar, Rudra Pratap Singh, Zaheer Khan and S Sreesanth. 12th man: Dinesh Karthik.

Australia: Adam Gilchrist (capt-wk), Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Haddin, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Stuart Clark, James Hopes, Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson.

Match Officials: Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI) Sunil Shastri (Ind) and Third Umpire: M Saheba (Ind). Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng).


Write Comments