India opt to bat in must-win tie against Aussies

Published: Monday, October 8, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Chandigarh: Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in the fourth one-day international here at Sector  16 Stadium on Monday.

India, down 2-0 in the seven-match series, recalled batsman Saurav Ganguly after a hamstring injury and made three changes from the previous game.

Australia welcomed back left-arm Nathan Bracken in place of fellow paceman Stuart Clark in the only change from the side which won the third game by 47 runs on Friday.

Ganguly came in for injured opening batsman Gautam Gambhir and RP Singh at the expense of the expensive Sreesanth.

Left-arm Murali Kartik was included as the second spinner in place of batsman Rohit Sharma, his first game since February 2006.


India: Mahendra Dhoni (capt, wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Zaheer Khan and Rudra Pratap Singh.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt, wk), Adam Gilchrist (wk), Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, Brett Lee, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken and Mitchell Johnson.

Match Officials: Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI), Sunil Shastri (Ind) and Third umpire: G Pratapkumar (Ind). Match Referee: Chris Broad (Eng).


Write Comments