India elect to bat against Australia

Published: Monday, October 8, 2007, 11:13 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat in the fourth one-day international against Australia here.

Sourav Ganguly returned to the Indian squad in place of an injured Gautam Gambhir while temperamental fast bowler Shanthakumaran Sreesanth was left out. India also dropped Rohit Sharma while bringing in left-arm spinner Murali Kartik, who will be playing his first international in more than a year.

Ganguly was part of the team for the first one-dayer in Bangalore, which was abandoned due to rain, but missed out on the next two due to a hamstring injury.

Australians brought fast bowler Nathan Bracken in place of Stuart Clark in the only change from the side that won the third one-dayer in Hyderabad.

Bracken makes his maiden appearance in the series, which Australia lead 2-0, after returning from a visit home for the birth of his son.

The remaining three matches of the series will be played in Baroda, Nagpur and Mumbai.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Rudra Pratap Singh, Zaheer Khan.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, James Hopes.

Umpires: Steve Bucknor (WI), Suresh Shastri (IND)

TV Umpire: G. A. Pratap Kumar (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more about: elect, bat, australia
Write Comments