Australia elect to bat against India

Published: Wednesday, October 17, 2007, 14:47 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Australia captain Ricky Ponting won the toss and elected to bat in the seventh and final one-day international against India here.

India dropped out-of-form batsman Rahul Dravid and mercurial fast bowler Shanthakumaran Sreesanth, bringing in Dinesh Karthik and Rudra Pratap Singh for the meaningless match.

Australia, who have already clinched the seven-match series 4-1, remained unchanged from the side that won the previous game in Nagpur by 18 runs. The opener in Bangalore was abandoned due to rain.

Sachin Tendulkar officially congratulated before the start of the game for playing 400 one-day internationals.

Pakistani umpire Aleem Dar, who is officiating in his 100th one-day international, was also presented with a memento by Indian cricket board President Sharad Pawar.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt), Sachin Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa, Sourav Ganguly, Dinesh Karthick, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Zaheer Khan, Rudra Pratap Singh.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (capt), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin, Brad Hodge, Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, Andrew Symonds, Brad Hogg, James Hopes.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Amiesh Saheba (IND)

TV umpire: G. Pratapkumar (IND)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more about: australia, elect, bat
Write Comments