South Africa elect to bat first against Pakistan

Published: Thursday, October 18, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Lahore: South Africa won the toss and will bat first in the opening one-day international against Pakistan today.

South African seamer Vernon Philander was ruled out of the game with a hamstring injury, while Pakistan's Mohammad Asif has an elbow problem and also miss the second match on Saturday.

Left-arm seamer Sohail Tanvir, 22, makes his debut for Pakistan after being blooded in last month's Twenty20 World Cup.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Justin Kemp (vice-capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Makhaya Ntini, Charl Langeveldt.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal, Misbah-ul Haq, Umar Gul, Rao Iftikhar, Sohail Tanvir.


Read more about: south africa, pakistan, odi series, lahore
Write Comments