Pakistan elect to bat against South Africa

Published: Saturday, October 20, 2007, 11:42 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and elected to bat in the second one-day international against South Africa at the Gaddafi Stadium here.

Pakistan left out opener Mohammad Hafeez to bring in left-arm spinner Abdul Rehman in an effort to strengthen their bowling attack which is still without pace spearhead Mohammad Asif.

Asif reinjured his elbow and has not recovered fully.

South Africa, who lead the five-match series 1-0, remain unchanged after winning the first match by 45 runs here on Thursday.

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Justin Kemp, Mark Boucher, Albie Morkel, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock, Johan Botha, Charl Langeveldt

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Imran Nazir, Kamran Akmal, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Yousuf, Sohail Tanveer, Rao Iftikhar, Umar Gul, Abdul Rehman

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Asad Rauf (PAK)

TV umpire: Nadeem Ghouri (PAK)

Match Referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)

Read more about: pakistan, elect, bat, africa
Write Comments