Smith elects to bat against Pakistan

Published: Tuesday, October 23, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

FAISALABAD: South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first in the third one-day international against Pakistan on Tuesday.

Pakistan included opener Yasir Hameed in the team after the failure of Imran Nazir in the first two games.

Seamer Mohammad Asif again failed a fitness test and was ruled out of the match. He also missed the first two games due to an elbow injury.

South Africa named an unchanged side for the day-night match. The series is level at 1-1.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Justin Kemp, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Makhaya Ntini, Charl Langeveldt. 12th man Jean-Paul Duminy.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Mohammad Yousuf, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Misbah-ul Haq, Umar Gul, Rao Iftikhar, Yasir Hameed, Abdul Rehman, Sohail Tanvir. 12th man Salman Butt.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ) and Zameer Haider (Pak)


Write Comments