Kerala infuse fresh blood into Ranji squad

Published: Monday, October 29, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kochi: Two new faces - Rakesh K J and Sambhashiva Sharma - were on Sunday named in the 15-member Kerala Ranji cricket team for the first two matches for this season.
Announcing the team here, Kerala Cricket Association Secretary T C Mathew said the team would be led by Sony Cheruvathara for the entire season. The team would play its first two matches against Vidharbha at Nagpur from Nov 3 and Services at Palakkad on Nov 15.
''A review meeting after the first two matches will decide whether the team needs to be changed for the subsequent matches in the season'' , he said.
Though Indian pace bowler S Sreesanth was included in the team, Prasanth Parameswaran would replace him if he was called for national duty.
The Squad: Sony Cheruvathara (capt) Jagadeesh (vice capt), S Sreesanth, Prasanth Parameswaran, Tinu Yohanan, Sambhashiva Sharma, Sebastain Antony, Raiphy Vincent Gomes, Robert Fernandez, Rohan Prem, Vinan G Nair (wk), Prasanth Chandran, P Prasanth, Rakesh K J, S Aneesh and Sreekumaran Nair.
Team Manager: Saji Kumar Coach: P Hariharan.

Tomar to lead MP Ranji team: Brijesh Tomar, the right-hand middle-order batsman, has been named captain of a 15-member Madhya Pradesh squad for Ranji Trophy Plate League during the 2007-08 season, reports UNI from Bhopal.
Tomar's elevation to captaincy was necessitated by former captain Abbas Ali's decision to join the Indian Cricket League; a move which made him ineligible to play in matches conducted by the Indian board.
The squad includes Devendra Bundela and Naman Ojha, the wicket-keeper batsman, both former India A players. Ojha, 24, was in the India A team that toured Kenya in 2004.
Madhya Pradesh's bowling attack will be led by Anand Rajan, the promising 20-year-old medium-fast bowler, who also played for India Under-19 as well as the Australia Centre of Excellence in this year's Cricket Australia Emerging Players Tournament. Rajan has taken 37 wickets in nine first-class matches at 27.75, including a five-wicket haul on his debut in 2005.
Madhya Pradesh begin their upcoming domestic campaign by taking on Jharkhand in a Ranji game from November 3.
MP squad:

Brijesh Tomar (capt), Naman Ojha (wk), Mudassir Ojha, Devendra Bundela, Rahul Bakshi, Zafar Ali, Murtaza Ali, Sanjay Pandey, Shantanu Pitre, Anand Rajan, Ashutosh Jadhav, Asif Ali, Jatin Saxena, Jalaj Saxena and Sunil Dholpure.


Write Comments