India placed in easy group for 2009 World T20

Published: Wednesday, October 31, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Dubai: Defending champions India have been placed in a relatively easy pool Group A -- alongside Bangladesh and Zimbabwe -- for the second edition of the12-nation ICC Twenty20 cricket World Championships to be held in England in 2009.

The grouping for the 2009 World Cupt was decided in a two-day ICC executive committee meeting,which concluded here on Wednesday.

The decision to finalise the grouping at the earliest was taken on the request of hosts England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), who wanted to proceed with the venue event bidding process which would allow match tickets to go on sale without much delay.

The groupings were decided on the basis of the teams finishing positions in the inaugural edition of the championship this year.

Ten Test playing ountries and two associate members will complete he field.

ODI world champions Australia have been clubbed with Sri Lanka and West Indies in Group C.

The Groups: Group A: India, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe; Group B: Pakistan, England and ICC Associate team 1; Group C: Australia, Sri Lanka and West Indies; Group D: New Zealand, South Africa and Associate 2.


Write Comments