Pak opt to bat in first ODI against India

Published: Monday, November 5, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Guwahati: Pakistan skipper Shoaib Malik won the toss and chose to bat in the first one-day international against India here at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium on Monday.

Pakistan recalled left-handed opener Salman Butt in place of Imran Nazir.

India picked in-form Gautam Gambhir ahead of the experienced Virender Sehwag, who was recalled to the squad.

The five-match series will be followed by three Tests in the fourth bilateral series between the arch-rivals since 2004.


India: Mahendra Dhoni (capt, wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Irfan Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Murali Kartik, Rudra Pratap Singh and Zaheer Khan.

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wk), Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul Haq, Umar Gul, Rao Iftikhar, Abdur Rehman and Shoaib Akhtar.

Match Officials: Umpires: Ian Gould (Eng) and Amiesh Saheba (Ind). Third umpire: G. Pratapkumar (Ind) Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SL)


Write Comments