Pak opt to bat in first Test against India

Published: Thursday, November 22, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and elected to bat in the first game of the three-Test series against India here at the Firoz Shah Kotla Stadium on Thursday.

India included off spinner Harbhajan Singh, who is playing for the first time since June 2006, and seamer Munaf Patel. In-form middle order batsman Yuvraj Singh misses out with seasoned campaigners Sourav Ganguly and VVS Laxman having been retained.

The touring side recalled fast bowlers Shoaib Akhtar and Mohammad Sami and handed a Test debut to 22-year-old left-arm fast bowler Sohail Tanvir


India: Anil Kumble (capt), Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Karthik, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Vangipurappu Laxman, Mahendra Dhoni (wk), Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Munaf Patel

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Salman Butt, Yasir Hameed, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul Haq, Kamran Akmal (wk), Danish Kaneria, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Sami and Shoaib Akhtar.

Umpires: Simon Taufel (Aus) and Billy Doctrove (WI).


Write Comments