ICL unveils Twenty20 tournament schedule

Published: Sunday, November 25, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Delhi: The Indian Cricket League (ICL) has revealed the fixture for its inaugural Twenty20 event, which will begin with Delhi Jets taking on Chandigarh Lions on Nov 30.

The tournament to be played with round-robin format, with six teams - Delhi Jets, Chandigarh Lions, Mumbai Champs, Kolkata Tigers, Chennai Superstars and Hyderabad Heroes - battling it out for a place in the semis. The teams which fail to make the final will compete for the third and fourth spot as well as the fifth and sixth spot.

"The match schedule we have announced offers cricket fans great excitement on all days, starting Nov 30," Kapil Dev, the chairman of the ICL's executive board, said on last Friday. "We are looking forward to see some fantastic cricket action to be played by combined pool of some of the best players in the world and fresh cricketing talent in India."

The tournament will be played at the Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex in Panchkula near Chandigarh.


Nov 30: Chandigarh Lions v Delhi Jets; Dec 1: Chennai Superstars v Kolkata Tigers and Mumbai Champs v Hyderabad Heroes; Dec 2: Delhi Jets v Hyderabad Heroes and Chandigarh Lions v Kolkata Tigers; Dec 3: Mumbai Champs v Chennai Superstars; Dec 5: Hyderbad Heroes v Chandigarh Lions; Dec 7: Mumbai Champs v Delhi Jets; Dec 8: Chennai Superstars v Chandigarh Lions and Delhi Jets v Kolkata Tigers; Dec 9: Hyderabad Heroes v Chennai Superstars and Mumbai Champs v Chandigarh Lions; Dec 10: Mumbai Champs v Kolkata Tigers; Dec 12: Chennai Superstars v Delhi Jets; Hyderbad Heroes v Kolkata Tigers.

Knock-out phase: Dec 14: Semifinal-I Dec 15: 5-6 position and Semi-final II; Dec 16: 3-4 spot and Final.


Write Comments