India elect bat first in Kolkata Test

Published: Friday, November 30, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Kolkata: India captain Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat in the second Test against Pakistan at the Eden Gardens here today.

While the Indian team retained their winning combination, Pakistan made one change to their side with skipper Shoaib Malik sitting out with an ankle injury.

Young middle-order batsman Faisal Iqbal, who is an exciting prospect for Pakistan with one century under his belt from the 19 matches he has played so far, replaces Malik. Vice-captain Younis Khan will lead the side in place of Malik.


India: Anil Kumble (captain), Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Wasim Jaffer, VVS Laxman, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Harbhajan Singh. 12th Man: Yuvraj Singh

Pakistan: Younis Khan (captain), Mohammad Yousuf, Faisal Iqbal, Salman Butt, Yasser Hameed, Danish Kaneria, Kamran Akhmal (wk), Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Sami, Shoaib Akhtar, Misbah-ul-Haq. 12th Man: Abdur Rehman

Umpires: Rudy Koertzon and Billy Doctrove Match Refree: Ranjan Madhugalle.


Read more about: pakistan, kolkata, kumble, malik
Write Comments