Ranji: K'taka needs outright win to stay in hunt

Published: Saturday, December 8, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mysore: Hosts Karnataka need an outright victory to make it to the knockout stage of the Ranji Trophy Super League when they take on Saurashtra in Group-A tie beginning here on Sunday.

The hosts have nine points from four matches while Saurashtra has ten points from same number of matches.

Though on paper, Karnataka are clear favourites, their topsy turvy performance against Rajasthan in the previous match enabled the latter garner their first point after four rounds.

A fine century from skipper Yere Goud and two half centuries by international player Robin Uthappa enabled Karnataka to split points.

In the bowling department, veteran spinner Sunil Joshi would be supported by K P Appanna and Aiyappa.

Karnataka has a bright chance of winning the encounter since they have played in the same ground and know better then their opponents who have been playing true cricket and full of runs.

Saurashtra team manager and physio Arjun Singh Rana said the team did not do well in their first innings against Tamil Nadu but in the second innings they played well hoping to give a better performance against Karnataka here.

The Karnataka coach Vijay Bhardwaj indicated that his team, will strive to force an outright win in the match. It is looking for a spot in the knockout phase.

The two teams had their practice sessions at the Gangothri glades grounds since last two days. The team which would win the toss is expected to bat first.

The match was earlier scheduled to be held at Infosys grounds, however, the venue has been changed to Gangothri grounds.


Karnataka: Yere Goud (capt), Robin Uthappa, K B Pawan, Bharat Chipili, C Raghu, Thilak Naidu (wk), B Akhil, Sunil Joshi, R Vinay Kumar, N C Aiyappa, K P Appanna, Sudhindra Shinde, Devaraj Patil, Dhananjaya and Gaurav Dhiman.

Saurashtra: Jayadev Shah (capt), Firoz Bambhaniya, Bhushan Chauhan, Rakesh Dhruv, Ravindra Jadeja, Sandeep Jobanputra, Chetheshwar Pujar, Sagar Jogiyani, Shitanshu Kotak, Kamlesh Makavana, Sandip Maniar, Pratik Mehta, Sandil Natkan, Jayadesh Odedra,  Nikhil Rathod and Kanniyya Vaghel.


Write Comments