England bat first in second Sri Lanka Test

Published: Sunday, December 9, 2007, 10:45 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

England captain Michael Vaughan won the toss and elected to bat in the second cricket Test against Sri Lanka at the Sinhalese Sports Club here on Sunday.

England made two changes from the side that lost the first Test in Kandy by 88 runs, leaving out injured fast bowler Matthew Hoggard and fellow seamer James Anderson.

Steve Harmison, who missed the Kandy Test due to back spasms, returns to the side and paceman Stuart Broad makes his Test debut.

Sri Lanka recalled 22-year-old opener Upul Tharanga in place of Sanath Jayasuriya, who announced his retirement from Test cricket after the Kandy match.

England: Michael Vaughan (capt), Alastair Cook, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Ravi Bopara, Matthew Prior (wicket-keeper), Ryan Sidebottom, Monty Panesar, Steve Harmison, Stuart Broad.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene (capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Michael Vandort, Chamara Silva, Jehan Mubarak, Prasanna Jayawardene (wicket-keeper), Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Daryl Harper (AUS)

TV umpire: Gamini Silva (SRI)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Read more about: england, bat, sri, lanka
Write Comments