Superstars thrash Tigers, reach finals

Published: Saturday, December 15, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula: The Chennai Superstars' bowlers bowled with virtual mechanical precision as they dismissed Kolkata Tigers to a paltry total of 74 and gave their side an authoritative 93 win victory in the first semi-final of the Indian Cricket League Twenty20 Championship at the floodlit Tau Devi Lal Sports Complex in Sector 3 here on Friday.

Chennai Superstars' all-rounder Australian Ian Harvey (2 for 12), Tamil Kumaran (2 for 18), Thiru Kumaran (2 for 16) and all-rounder and man-of-the- match Rajagopal Sathish (2 for 8) were the main wicket takers.

New-ball bowler Shabbir Ahmed got one for 5 from three overs.

Required to score 168 for victory, Tigers' innings collapsed like a house of cards.

They were skittled out for 74 in 15.3 overs. Only Abhishek Jhunjhunwala (18) and Anshu Jain (18) could reach the double-figure mark in a hopelessly loop-sided and disappointing semi-final.

Earlier, opener Ian Harvey of Australia (23, 20 balls) and Chris Read of England (28, 18b, 4x4s) proveded Superstars a good start by realising 50 runs for the second wicket stand.

Rajgopal Satish (51, 24 balls, 6x4s, 1x6) and Vasanth Saravanan (24*) were associated in a brisk 61-run partnership in just under six overs for the seventh wicket to take Superstars past 150.

Chennai team lost their last four wickets in just seven deliveries for a meagre two runs. In the fifth delivery of 19th over, McMillan (2 for 26) dismissed Satish who was holed out to Abu Nicham stationed at long on. In the next delivery of McMillan, Tamil Kumaran (0) was run out by Klusener. In the following over Hayward castled Thiru Kumaran (0) of the first ball. Three deliveries later, Shabbir Ahmed was run out for 1 and the Superstars were all out for 167.

Brief scores:

Chennai Superstars: 167 all out in 19.5 overs (Ian Harvey 23, Chris Read 28, Satish Rajagopal 51, Vasanth Saravanan 24 n o; Tarafdar 2 for 28, McMillan 2 for 36, Hayward 1 for 24) beat Kolkata Tigers: 74 all out in 15.3 overs (Abhishek Jhunjhunwala 18, Anshu Jain 18; S Rajagopal 2 for 8 Harvey 2 for 12, Tiru Kumaran 2 for 16, Tamil Kumaran 2 for 18, Shabbir 1 for 5) by 93 runs to enter Final


Write Comments