Warne to be highest paid cricketer in IPL

Published: Saturday, December 15, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) sponsored Indian Premier League (IPL) will see the recently retired Australian spin legend Shane Warne drawing the highest fee with a staggering USD 400,000 in his kitty.

The BCCI managing committee announced the names of 34 cricketers including Warne, who have signed the contract and would be competing in next year's cricket league.

Retired Aussie pacer Glenn McGrath and prolific middle-order batsman Mohammad Yousuf will earn 350,000 dollar and 330,000 dollar respectively, announced BCCI treasurer N Srinivasan here today.

Former Kiwi skipper Stephen Fleming has been offered 350,000 dollar while 10 other cricketers were offered in the 225,000 dollar bracket. However, the board did not mention the names of any Indian cricketers who have been offered a contract amount.

On being asked about Australian captain Ricky Ponting and swashbuckling wicket-keeper batsman Adam Gilchrist's decision on joining the league, Mr Srinivasan said the board was in talks with them and would make a formal announcement soon.

Pakistani pacer Shoaib Akhtar (2,25000 dollar) and captain Shoaib Malik (300,000 dollar) have also confirmed their participation in the league along with retired Sri Lankan star Sanath Jayasuriya.

Jayasuriya's team mate and highest wicket taker in Tests Muttiah Muralitharan has been offered 250,000 dollars.

So far cricketers from six countries which include players from Australia, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, New Zealand, South Africa and West Indies were given the contract.

The treasurer said that the amount paid to the cricketers would be for a period of one year and their contract will be reviewed later.

Lanky fast bowler from Srilanka, Nuwan Zoysa would be the lowest paid cricketer in the league with an offer of 100,000 dollars.

BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah also announced a hike in the dearness allowance from Rs 5000 to 10,000 and travelling allowance from Rs 7000 to 10,000 for the board members and the selectors.


Write Comments