Heroes beat Mumbai Champs for fifth spot

Published: Sunday, December 16, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula: Hyderabad Heroes defeated Mumbai Champs by 25 runs to decide fifth and sixth positions in the Indian Cricket League Twenty20 Championship at the Tau Devi Lal Cricket Stadium here yesterday.

The winners were presented a cheque of Rs 1 crore. Abdul Razzaq was declared Man of the Match as he slammed unbeaten 67 runs off 33 balls with seven huge sixes.

In the absence of regular captain Inzamam ul Haq, Hyderabad Heroes were skippered by Ambati Rayadu. Mumbai Champs have won only one match from total of six encounters they had played in the tournament.

Mumbai Champs captain Brian Lara's continued to disappoint the spectators as he was again dismissed cheaply.

Hyderabad Heroes won the toss and elected to bat. Abdul Razzaq remained unbeaten on 67 which came off 33 deliveries. Chris Harris made unbeaten 49 runs off 32 balls. Their fourth wicket partnership realised 120 runs as Hyderabad Heroes scored 179 runs for 3.

Shashank Nag (35) and Nicky Boje (15) also gave a good performance by putting on 50 runs for the first wicket stand.

Mumbai's Ranjeet Khirid (3-29) claimed all the three wickets of Hyderabad Heroes that fell yesterday.

Mumbai Champs started their chase with Subhojit Paul (1) and Vikram Solanki (45).

However, heavyweights like legendary batsman from West Indies Brian Lara and Nathan Astle (13) failed to rise to the occasion.

Mumbai Champs could score 154 for six. Shreyas Khanolkar topscored with 51 runs off 39 balls. Brian Lara (15) was dismissed by Khaleel. It was Lara's highest individual score in the ICL.

Hyderabad Heores Azhar Mehmood's (2-28) and Nicky Boje (1-16) restricted Mumbai Champs innings.

Brief scores:

Hyderabad Heroes 179/3 (Shashank Nag lbw Ranjeet Kirid 35, Nicky Boje b Ranjeet Kirid 15, Abdul Razzaq not out 67, Chris Harris not out 49) V/s Mumbai Champs 154/6 (Vikram Solanki c A Rayudu b S Shahubuddin 45, Shreyas Khanolkar run out (Khaleel) 51, Brian Lara st I Khaleel b Nicky Boje 15)


Write Comments