New Zealand elect to bat first in second ODI

Published: Sunday, December 16, 2007, 10:19 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Sydney: New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and chose to bat first in the second Chappell-Hadlee one-day international cricket match against Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia lead the three-match series after winning Friday's opening game by seven wickets in Adelaide and can clinch the series on Sunday after losing the trophy 3-0 to the Kiwis in New Zealand in February.

Rain delayed the start of play by 45 minutes with more showers forecast throughout the course of the match.

Australia have named an unchanged side while New Zealand have included Jeetan Patel and wicketkeeper Gareth Hopkins for Mathew Sinclair and Mark Gillespie.


Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Andrew Symonds, James Hopes, Brett Lee, Brad Hogg, Nathan Bracken, Shaun Tait, Mitchell Johnson (12th man).

New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Lou Vincent, Brendon McCullum, Jamie How, Scott Styris, Ross Taylor, Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills, Jeetan Patel, Chris Martin, Gareth Hopkins, Mathew Sinclair (12th man).

Umpires: Mark Benson (ENG), Steve Davis (AUS)

TV Umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)

Write Comments