Delhi Jets secure third place in ICL Twenty20

Published: Monday, December 17, 2007, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Panchkula: Delhi Jets beat Kolkata Tigers to grab the third spot in the Indian Cricket League (ICL) Twenty 20 tournament at the Tau Devi lal stadium here yesterday.

Delhi Jets won by five wickets to pocket the prize money of Rs 1.5 crore. Kolkata Tigers had to be content with the 4th rank and prize money of Rs 1.25 crore.

Marvan Atapattu of Delhi Jets was declared the Man of the Match.

He slammed an unbeaten 75 runs off 56 balls which incidentally was the top score of the tournament beating the 74 runs by Imran Farhat.

Delhi Jets won the toss and invited Kolkata Tigers to bat. D Dasgupta(28) and P Aziz (10) kicked off the innings. Abhishek Jhunjhunwala could not perform well and was run out by T Sudhindra after scoring just one run off five balls. Shibsagar Singh was the top scorer. He scored 33 runs off 20 balls.

Craig Mc Milan scored 27 runs off 17 balls and was run out by Yadav. Rajiv Kumar scored 23 runs off 29 balls but was caught by Yadav.

Ali Murtaza(1-18) and A Bali(1-12) played a stellar role in restricting Kolkata Tigers to the score of 141 runs for seven wickets. Sudhendra, Abid Nabi and Yadav also took a wicket each.

Delhi Jets started the chase with Opener M D Mishra and Atapattu.

Though Mishra was caught by Aziz after just 13 runs off 15 balls but Atapattu smashed an unbeaten 75 runs off 56 balls and led Delhi Jets to victory.

Abbas Ali (25) and O Brien(14) also accelerated Team Delhi towards the win. Kolkata's Eklak Ahmid (2-31) and A N Ahmed's (1-23) efforts could not stop Team Delhi.

Chennai Superstars and Chandigarh Lions will face each other in the finals tonight.

Hyderabad Heroes are the fifth th position holders in the tournament and Mumbai Champs finish last.


Read more about: icl, delhi jets, kolkata tigers, icl 2007
Write Comments