New Zealand win toss, bowl against Bangladesh

Published: Wednesday, December 26, 2007, 4:39 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to bowl in the opening one-day match against Bangladesh here on Wednesday.

New Zealand have included four pace bowlers in their armoury and they should be assisted by the overcast skies.

The return of Peter Fulton from injury should also boost the fragile New Zealand batting line up.

After disastrous tours to South Africa and Australia, New Zealand are low on confidence and desperate to defeat international minnows Bangladesh.

They have never beaten New Zealand in a one-day match, although they won the Twenty20 game against a New Zealand XI on Sunday to show they will not be pushovers.


New Zealand: Jamie How, Brendon McCullum, Peter Fulton, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Mathew Sinclair, Jacob Oram, Kyle Mills, Daniel Vettori, Mark Gillespie, Chris Martin

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Junaid Siddique, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehrab Hossain, Farhad Reza, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain

Umpires: Gary Baxter (NZL), Peter Parker (AUS)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Read more about: zealand, toss, bowl, bangladesh
Write Comments