Kohli to lead India in Youth World Cup

Published: Monday, January 14, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: Virat Kohli of Delhi has been appointed the skipper of the Indian under-19 team that will participate in the biennial under-19 World Cup to be held in Malaysia from Feb 10 to March 3.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which announced a 15-member team here today, stated that Dav Whatmore would be the coach of the team.

The selected players would undergo a preparatory camp in Bangalore from Feb 1 to 8, before departing for Malaysia on February 9.

India which is placed in Group 'B' along with West Indies, South Africa and Papua New Guinea (PNG) would begin their campaign against Papua New Guinea (PNG) on Feb 17. They then face South Africa on Feb 19 and play their last group tie against West Indies on Feb 22.

The format of the tournament is that the top two teams of the four groups will qualify for the Super League and will play face each other in the quarterfinals. The winners of the Super League quarterfinals would move into the Super League semifinals with the top two teams clashing in the final.

The losers of the Super League quarterfinals would proceed to the Super League Play-offs.

The bottom two teams from each group would proceed to play in the Plate Championship quarterfinal play-off. The winners would move into the Plate semifinals with the winners of the semifinals clashing in the Plate final. The losers of the Plate quarterfinals will play the late Championship play-offs, BCCI stated in a release.

Squad: Virat Kohli (capt, Del) Abhinav Mukund (TN), Shreevats Goswami (Ben), Tanmay Srivastav (UP), Manish Pandey (Katk), Taruwar Kohli (Pun), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-capt, Sau), Saurabh Tiwary (Del), Duvvarapu Sivakumar (AP), Pradeep Sangwan (Del), Siddarth Kaul (Pun), Ajitesh Argal (Bar), Einstein Napolean (TN), Perry Goyal (Pun) and Iqbal Abdullah (Mum). Coach: Dav Whatmore.


Write Comments