india won the toss and elected to bat

Published: Wednesday, January 16, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

WACA (Perth): Indian captain Anil Kumble has won the toss and elected to bat first in the third Test against Australia at WACA Ground, Perth on Wednedsay.

India have left out Yuvraj Singh and Harbhajan Singh. Virender Sehwag and Irfan Pathan have been included in their place.

The Australians, leading the series 2-0, will be without the services of their towering opener Mathew Hayden, who has not recovered from a hamstring injury. Chris Rogers, touted to be a highly talented opener, will take his place at the top of the order.The home team has also opted to go in with a all-pace attack with Shaun Tait coming in place of Brad Hogg, hoping to capitalise on the conditions at WACA.

Australia: Ricky Ponting (captain), Chris Rogers, Phil Jacques, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Andrew Symonds, Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Stuart Clark, Shaun Tait and Mitchell Johnson.

India: Anil Kumble (captain) Virender Sehwag, Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Irfan Pathan, RP Singh and Ishant Sharma.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ), Asad Rauf (Pak)

Third umpire: Bruce Oxenford, Match referee: Mike Procter


Write Comments