Ton-up Gambhir helps Delhi clinch Ranji Trophy

Published: Saturday, January 19, 2008, 18:50 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Gambhir helps Delhi bag Ranji Trophy

Mumbai: Gautam Gambhir slammed a brilliant unbeaten hundred to help Delhi beat Uttar Pradesh by nine wickets in the Ranji Trophy title clash at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

Delhi, needing 230 for victory, achieved the target quite easily with Gambhir remaining unbeaten on 130, which came in just 154 balls and was studded with 17 boundaries, while Sikhar Dhawan was remained unbeaten on 54 to give Delhi their first Ranji Trophy title in 16 years having last won it in the 1991-92 season.

Earlier, Uttar Pradesh, resuming on 154/6, were bowled out for a paltry 177 with left arm seamer Pradeep Sangwan doing the damage with a superb spell of swing bowling to end with figures of five for 46.

In 48 minutes and 10.2 overs of play, UP lost four wickets for just 23 runs as Sangwan produced a hostile spell of seam bowling plucking three wickets for five runs in as many overs.

Sangwan struck in his first over, nipping the ball back in to castle Bhuvaneshwar Kumar. He then cleaned up Praveen Kumar with a peach of an yorker before pushing one across Amir Khan to induce an edge for caught behind.

Without too many runs to play with, Uttar Pradesh had to strike with the new ball but Praveen Kumar failed to repeat the first-innings heroics as the Delhi openers played him out with caution, while turning the heat on the others.

Gambhir started off like a runaway train, slamming Sudeep Tyagi for three boundaries in his first over.

Tyagi, who picked up two wickets in the first innings to become the highest wicket taker this season, couldn't make any headway and with Bhuvaneshwar Kumar continuing to be listless, Delhi jogged along towards the target.

Delhi lost Akash Chopra for 33, caught in the slips by Kaif of Praveen Gupta, to leave Delhi on 91/1, but Gambhir along with Dhawan took their team to victory with an unbeaten partnership of 139 for the second wicket.

Brief scores:

Uttar Pradesh 342 (Tanmay Srivastava 105, Ravikant Shukla 96; Pradeep Sangwan 4 for 80, Sumit Narwal 4 for 81) and 177 (Suresh Raina 85; Pradeep Sangwan 5 for 46) lost to Delhi 290 (Akash Chopra 102, Rajat Bhatia 139 n o; Praveen Kumar 8-68) and 230 for 1 (Gautam Gambhir 130 n o, Shikhar Dhawan 54 n o).


Write Comments