Ganguly axed for tri-series; Raina, Praveen in

Published: Sunday, January 20, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Mumbai: The national selectors today sprang a huge surprise by leaving out in-form batsman Sourav Ganguly from the 16-member ODI team for the Commonwealth Bank tri-series and the lone Twenty20 match.

Another senior pro Rahul Dravid, who had lost the confidence of the selectors since the home ODI series against Pakistan, still finds himself out in the cold even as promising batsman from UP Suresh Raina makes a comeback into the squad after piling on the runs in domestic matches.

Uttar Pradesh's excellent showing in the Ranji Trophy has paid dividends as apart from Raina, right-arm seamer Praveen Kumar and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla have also found a place in the team. However left-arm spinner Murali Kartik, who had performed creditably in the ODI series against Australia last October, was left out.

"Looking towards the future team of India the selection committee has provided the youngsters who have done well in domestic cricket an excellent platform," India board (BCCI) secretary Niranjan Shah said in a statement.

Sreesanth passed a fitness test in Bangalore has been drifted into the squad.

Lanky paceman Ishant, who had impressed one and all with pace, bounce and movements, earned a recall while the Perth Test heroes Virender Sehwag and Irfan Pathan retained in the squad.

Among the players in the Test squad in Australia at the moment, Anil Kumble who has retired from one-day cricket will return back along with V V S Laxman and Wasim Jaffer who are not considered one-day players. Other players returning back would be Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, V R V Singh and Pankaj Singh will return back.

Dhoni will take over the captaincy mantle for the ODIs.

The team: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt&wk), Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Virender Sehwag, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Praveen Kumar, RP Singh, Ishant Sharma, Sreesanth, Harbhajan Singh and Piyush Chawla.


Write Comments