Sehwag steadies India ship after Johnson blows

Published: Thursday, January 24, 2008, 3:35 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Aussie paceman Mitchell Johnson celebrates the dismissal of Pathan with his teammates Ponting and Clarke on day one of the fourth Test at Adelaide OvalBangalore: India opener Virender Sehwag steadied Indian innings with a strokeful half-century on day one of the fourth and final Test against Australia at Adelaide Oval on Thursday.

Tourists have lost the wickets of Irfan Pathan and Rahul Dravid to Mitchell Johnson while easing to 89/2 at lunch.

Sehwag (56) and Sachin (0) were at the crease.

Earlier, India skipper Anil Kumble won the toss and elected to bat on a batting wicket.

Allrounder Pathan (9), promoted to open the batting in the absence of Wasim Jaffer, nicked on an attempted drive to wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist off Johnson in the eighth over, leaving India 34/1.

And Dravid (18) edged Johnson low to Ricky Ponting at second slip.

Sehwag looked comfortable against the speed of Brett Lee, Johnson and Stuart Clark. He played some fluent drives and flicks en route to his chanceless 56 studded with six boundary hits off 75 balls.

India brought back off-spinner Harbhajan Singh for Jaffer, giving the tourists five front-line bowlers - pacemen RP, Pathan and Ishant Sharma and spinners Kumble and Harbhajan.

Australia made two changes from the third Test in Perth, reinstating opening batsman Matthew Hayden, who had recovered from a hamstring strain, and left-arm spinner Brad Hogg for opening batsman Chris Rogers and fast bowler Shaun Tait respectively.

Brief Scores (at lunch, D-1):

India Ist innings 89/2 (Sehwag 56 n o, Dravid 18; Johnson 2 for 33) Vs Australia.


India: Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, VVS Laxman, Mahendra Dhoni, Anil Kumble, Harbhajan Singh, RP Singh and Ishant Sharma. Dinesh Karthik (12th).

Australia: Matthew Hayden, Phil Jaques, Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Michael Clarke, Andrew Symonds, Adam Gilchrist, Brad Hogg, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson and Stuart Clark. Shaun Tait (12th).


Write Comments