Proteas elect to bat first in second ODI

Published: Friday, January 25, 2008, 18:08 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Cape Town: South Africa won the toss and decided to bat in the second one-day international against the West Indies at Newlands.

South Africa made three changes from the side that won the first of five matches by six wickets in Centurion on Sunday.

Herschelle Gibbs, who was unavailable for the first game, returned in place of Justin Ontong, who would not have been able to play anyway because of a knee injury.

Off-spinner Johan Botha and fast bowler Morne Morkel played in place of all-rounder Albie Morkel and fast bowler Andre Nel respectively, the latter not considered because of a sore neck.

The West Indies made two changes, with opening batsman Sewnarine Chattergoon playing ahead of Devon Smith, while fast bowler Jerome Taylor, who was unavailable for the first match because of injury, returned in place of Daren Powell.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Charl Langeveldt

West Indies: Dwayne Bravo (capt), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Brenton Parchment, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Runako Morton, Denesh Ramdin, Darren Sammy, Ravi Rampaul, Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards

Umpires: Daryl Harper (AUS) and Brian Jerling (RSA)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Write Comments