Pakistan win toss and bat in third one-dayer

Published: Sunday, January 27, 2008, 13:56 [IST]
Share this on your social network:
   Facebook Twitter Google+    Comments Mail

Pakistan elect to bat in third one-dayer

Multan: Pakistan captain Shoaib Malik won the toss and elected to bat in the third day-night international against Zimbabwe at Multan Stadium here.

Zimbabwe, trailing 0-2 in the five-match series, received a setback when captain Propser Utseya was ruled out due to an ankle injury.

Stuart Matsikenyeri was dropped, making way for Keith Dabengwa and Tawanda Mupariwa in the only two changes in the lineup from the last match.

Hamilton Masakadza takes over as skipper.

Pakistan have brought in all-rounders Kamran Hussain and Yasir Arafat in place of Samiullah Niazi and Rao Iftikhar for the match.

Pakistan won the first match in Karachi by 104 runs on Monday and doubled their lead at Hyderabad with a five wicket win in the second match on Thursday.


Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (capt), Salman Butt, Nasir Jamshed, Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf, Misbah-ul Haq, Shahid Afridi, Kamran Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Yasir Arafat, Kamran Hussain

Zimbabwe: Hamilton Masakadza (capt), Chamu Chibhabha, Elton Chigumbura, Tawanda Mupariwa, Gary Brent, Ray Price, Vusi Sibanda, Tatenda Taibu, Brendon Taylor, Sean Williams, Keith Dabengwa

Umpires: Asoka de Silva (SRI), Nadeem Ghouri (PAK)

TV umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)

Write Comments